skip navigation

2007's Capture AYHL Championship

By TM Staff, 03/10/20, 11:15PM EDT


The Team Maryland Peewee Majors go 4-0 to sweep AYHL competition and win AYHL Championship.  At the Peewee Major, the top 4 teams; TM, LI Gulls, Valley Forge, and Virtua faced off in a 3 game round-robin with the top two teams advancing to the championship.  

In game 1, Team Maryland would find themselves down 0-2 after the 1st period.  Quinn McKenzie and Mate Tardi would score back to back in under a minute in the 2nd period evening the game at 2-2.  Virtua would strike first in the 3rd and once again TM found themselves in a hole.  The team showed their resilience by scoring 2 goals (Trethewey and Sedlak-Braude) to win the all important first game 4-3.  Justin Vlassis added 3 assists in the game. Jack Faricy would get the win in net.  

Team Maryland and Valley Forge would face off in a classic back and forth matchup that needed overtime to decide the winner.  Dominik Sedlak-Braude would open up the scoring early in the first which would later be answered by Valley Forge. Carter Johnson and Justin Vlassis scored in the second giving TM a 3-2 lead after 2.  Valley Forge battled and scored the tying goal with just under 2 minutes to go in the game. Again, 07s would show their resilience, fighting off Valley Forge momentum with Quinn McKenzie scoring the overtime winner just over a minute into OT.  

Game 3 ultimately didn’t matter as TM and the Gulls both had locked up their position in the Championship game but when your playing #7 team in the US, you play to win.  Team Maryland was the only team in the AYHL to defeat the Gulls during the regular season and they would do it again with a dominating 7-4 win against the Gulls. 

In the Championship game, Quinn McKenzie would open the scoring in the 2nd period giving TM a 1-0 lead.  Gulls would make it 1-1, but Justin Vlassis would quickly give TM back the lead.  Late in the 2nd, TM would be on the wrong end of a controversial no goal call and TM would only have a one goal lead heading into the 3rd.  Gulls would tie the score early into the 3rd and goaltender Troy Wright would make a bunch of big saves to hold off the Gulls momentum.  With 3 minutes to go, Quinn McKenzie would give TM the lead. 30 seconds later, Carter Johnson would get the goal which sealed it for the 4-2 Win.   

Team Maryland came away with 2 individual honors; Quinn McKenzie – All American Forward, Jack Faricy – All American Goaltender. 

Congratulations to Coach Fransen, Coach Tait, Brody Cook, Dylan Corsi, Jack Faricy, Ali Haan, Carter Johnson, Zachary Martsching, Quinn McKenzie, Daniel McNelis, Alex Milota, Quentin O’Connor, Dominik Sedlak-Braude, Mate Tardi, Charlie Trethewey, Justin Vlassis, William Weller, and Troy Wright.