skip navigation

04's Win First AYHL Midget Title

By TM Staff, 03/10/20, 10:15PM EDT


The Team Maryland 2004 group has made the AYHL playoffs every year since they started AAA Hockey at Peewee Minor.  The group has won a couple AYHL regular season championships and several playoff championship appearances including a heartbreaking 4OT defeat.  

This season Team Maryland entered as the 4th seed with a 20-8-1 record only 4 points off the top seeded Long Island Gulls.  

In the semi-final against the Gulls, Nathan Barrow would open the scoring late in the 1st period.  The second period was dominated by Team Maryland.  Jackson Choi scored two goals and Miles Gunty added a highlight reel goal to give TM a 4-0 lead entering the 3rd.  Ervie Terwilliger would score 55 seconds into the 3rd period, his 3rd point in the game, as Team Maryland would cruise on to win 5-1.  Goaltender Chase Hornbecker stopped 37 of 38 shots in the game. 

Perennial powerhouse NJ Avalanche dominated Jr. Flyers 7-1 in their semi-final matchup setting up a Championship in which the teams went 1-1-1 against each other in the regular season.  

Team Maryland would again open up the scoring with a goal from Charlie Maner less than 2 minutes into the game.  Team Maryland defense led by Tyler Rose, Tim Wallen, Hunter Hoffman, Casey Jones and Brandon Chen began to shut down and frustrate the NJ Avalanche.  Again, Team Maryland would dominate the 2nd period.   Tyler Iles would score first midway through the second.  Late in the 2nd, Team Maryland would score two goals back to back from Wallen and Gunty.  Team Maryland successfully killed a 5 on 3 in the 3rd ending any late game drama, as Chase Hornbecker would stop all 18 shots he faced.  Over the weekend Team Maryland got points from 9 different players.  

Since playing a tough series at the end of January against the #1 ranked team in the country, HoneyBaked, TM would go on to finish the year 8-0-1 in their final 9 games.  

Congratulations to the Team; Chase Hornbecker, Peter Sterling, Tyler Rose, Tim Wallen, Brandon Chen, Casey Jones, Hunter Hoffman, Miles Gunty, Dylan Thorn, Jackson Choi, Connor Frazer, Nathan Barrow, Ervie Terwilliger, Charlie Maner, David Van Iterson, and Tyler Iles.

As well as sweeping their competition, TM 04s swept the individual honors for AYHL Playoffs.

All American Forward – Miles Gunty

All American Defesemen – Tim Wallen

All American Goaltender –Chase Hornbecker